HyperPie on a PC with VirtualBox?

Post Reply
senson
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:01 am

HyperPie on a PC with VirtualBox?

Post by senson » Sat Apr 08, 2017 6:52 pm

Hello,
LOVE LOVE LOVE this project! I was wondering if it was possible to get the HyperPie image to run on a PC as a virtual machine w/VirtualBox?

I have a Pi and it works great on there, but was hoping to take it with me on my laptop when travelling.

dabone
Reactions:
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:31 pm

Re: HyperPie on a PC with VirtualBox?

Post by dabone » Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:47 pm

I've ended up moving it over to a pc using windows.

It only uses the media (Layouts and artwork) from hyperpie, and then installing the windows attract mode and retroarch for windows.
Then you have to edit all of the emulator files under attractmode\emulators to point to your artwork,roms,and emulators.

Here's a sample for the atari 2600.
  • # Generated by Attract-Mode v2.2.0-1
    #
    executable \Media\RetroArch\retroarch
    args -L \Media\RetroArch\cores\stella_libretro.dll "[romfilename]"
    rompath \Media\roms\atari2600
    romext .a26;.bin;.rom;.zip;.gz
    system Atari 2600
    info_source thegamesdb.net
    artwork boxart \media\roms\atari2600\boxart
    artwork cartart \media\roms\atari2600\cartart
    artwork flyer \media\roms\atari2600\flyer
    artwork marquee \media\roms\atari2600\marquee
    artwork snap \media\roms\atari2600\snap
    artwork wheel \media\roms\atari2600\wheel


I then added Sega saturn, ps2 and gamecube.

So basically a hyperspin style setup using attractmode instead.

Haggis
Reactions:
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:52 pm

Re: HyperPie on a PC with VirtualBox?

Post by Haggis » Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:37 am

Awesome :)

senson
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:01 am

Re: HyperPie on a PC with VirtualBox?

Post by senson » Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:39 pm

I'll give this a try. Sounds like it will give me what I want.

Thanks, kind sir!

ngok31
Reactions:
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 8:19 am

Re: HyperPie on a PC with VirtualBox?

Post by ngok31 » Fri May 05, 2017 9:01 am

Could you please post a short video for this ? Just to have a look on it.
Thanks.

senson
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:01 am

Re: HyperPie on a PC with VirtualBox?

Post by senson » Sat May 13, 2017 10:31 pm

Here's some quick instructions on how to get RetroArch working on a PC.

http://lifehacker.com/the-best-snes-emu ... 1745316428

I haven't had a chance to try getting Attract Mode set up yet..


dilleep
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 4:19 am

Re: HyperPie on a PC with VirtualBox?

Post by dilleep » Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:42 am




Post Reply